ITALY MUSEUM: Billets Musées italien. Visites Guidées and expériences
Tour Opérateur Italien Officiel

Castel Gandolfo

Toutes les Catégories

Visites Guidées

Castel Gandolfo: decouvrez nos visites guidées

Ajoutez à la Liste des Souhaits

Vatican en un jour

Visites Guidées

Vatican en un jour

Consacrer un jour à la découverte du Vatican!

  • billet réservé

  • confirmation par email

  • Entrée coupe-file

  • e-voucher acceptée

  • visite de groupe

  • journée entière

A partir de 41.00 €

Réservez

Ajoutez à la Liste des Souhaits

Visite guidée de Castel Gandolfo - départ de Roma S.Pietro

Visites Guidées

Visite guidée de Castel Gandolfo - départ de Roma S.Pietro

Visitez le Palazzo Apostolico de Castel Gandolfo en départant de Roma San Pietro!

  • billet réservé

  • confirmation par email

  • Entrée coupe-file

  • e-voucher acceptée

  • visite de groupe

  • Audioguide comprise

  • journée entière

A partir de 15.00 €

Réservez

Ajoutez à la Liste des Souhaits

Tour guidé à Castel Gandolfo

Visites Guidées

Tour guidé à Castel Gandolfo

Profitez d'une visite guidée pour en savoir plus sur le jardin Barberini et les villas pontificales.

  • billet réservé

  • confirmation par email

  • e-voucher acceptée

  • visite de groupe

  • Durée: à peu près 2 heures

A partir de 31.00 €

Réservez

POURQUOI VISITER CASTEL GANDOLFO

Dans le village de Castel Gandolfo, en plus du Palais Pontifical, vous pourrez admirer différents témoignages d'anciens bâtiments romains, tels que par exemple le site avec les restes de la Villa de Domitien et les autres villas qui existent encore dans la région.
Parmi les villas, les églises et les sites naturels, vous aurez l'embarras du choix lors de votre visite à Castel Gandolfo. Par exemple, l'Ēglise de Saint-Thomas de Villanova donnant sur la place principale et fut conçue par Gian Lorenzo Le Bernin ou aussi la Villa Pontificale avec son Antiquarium, avec des œuvres d'art de la Villa impériale, du théâtre et du Ninfeo Bergantino, connu aussi comme les Bains de Diane.

UN PEU D'HISTOIRE DE CASTEL GANDOLFO

On pense que le lieu qui coïncide aujourd'hui avec le territoire de Castel Gandolfo, était le site où se trouvait autrefois l'ancienne ville d'Alba Longa, qui fut ensuite endiguée durant la croissance de Rome. À la fin de 300 av. J.-C., pour s'assurer que les eaux du Lac Albano atteignent un niveau approprié, les Romains creusèrent un tunnel dans la roche, accomplissant ainsi une opération compliquée de génie hydraulique.
Dans la belle région qui entourait le lac, déjà à l'époque républicaine, des maisons et des villas furent construites, comme la somptueuse villa construite par l'empereur Domitien. La communauté de Castel Gandolfo est devenue indépendante en l'an 1000 et devint une petite communauté agricole, qui payait un loyer au monastère, pour maintenir son autonomie.
Le nom Castel Gandolfo dérive de la famille Gandolfi qui, vers 1200, construisait un château qui, au fil des ans, changea de propriétaire, en premier avec la famille Capizucchi, puis avec la famille Savelli. À la fin de 1500 Castel Gandolfo cessa d'être un village indépendant et le château fut saisi par la Chambre Apostolique en raison des dettes accumulées. Le Pape Clément VII insérera le Château dans les biens de l'Église et en fera la résidence d'été papale.

QU'EST-CE QU’IL EST AUJOURD'HUI CASTEL GANDOLFO

Castel Gandolfo est appelée la Cité du pape, car depuis des années elle est la résidence d'été du Pape. Ce village animé est la destination des touristes du monde entier, qui veulent admirer les caractéristiques de ce lieu sur les rives du lac d'Albano et dans le cadre magnifique des Châteaux Romains.
Le centre historique de Castel Gandolfo est entouré par des murs d'enceinte et dans les environs immédiats furent construites de nombreuses résidences d'été de la noblesse romaine.

CURIOSITÉS DE CASTEL GANDOLFO

Savez-vous que le Palais Pontifical de Castel Gandolfo est utilisé comme résidence d'été papale. Aujourd'hui, c'est un musée appartenant à l'Église Catholique et depuis 2014 a reçu le privilège d'extraterritorialité, qui garantit l'exonération d'impôts et de toute expropriation.
Savez-vous que le Lac d'Albano, sur lequel surplombe le village de Castel Gandolfo est un lieu d'origine volcanique sur les collines Albani, qui sont composées pour la plupart de débris volcaniques. L'émissaire artificiel du lac, aujourd'hui n'est plus actif, depuis les années 60 à aujourd'hui, le niveau de l'eau a diminué d'environ cinq mètres, mais aussi pour des raisons d'exploitation intensive par l'homme comme source d'approvisionnement dans l'agriculture.

COMMENT PEUT-ON VISITER CASTEL GANDOLFO?

Si vous êtes à Castel Gandolfo et que vous voulez visiter le Jardin Barberini et les Villas Pontificales, vous pouvez réserver une visite avec départ garanti avec un guide expert. Mais si vous êtes à Rome et que vous avez une journée à dédier à la découverte des lieux les plus importants liés au Vatican, vous pouvez participer au tour du Vatican en une journée. Cette combinaison particulière comprend l'entrée prioritaire avec audio- guide aux Musées du Vatican et la Chapelle Sixtine, aux Jardins du Vatican et les Villas Pontificales de Castel Gandolfo avec déplacement en train aller/retour de Rome.
Sinon, pour ceux qui préfèrent visiter le Palais Apostolique de Castel Gandolfo, une visite avec départ fixe est disponible avec audio-guide avec transfert en train de Rome.

AUTRES ATTRACTIONS

Castel Gandolfo abrite depuis de nombreuses années le Palais Pontifical, la résidence d'été du Pape.Pendant toute l'année le Pape habite dans les murs de la Cité du Vatican, un minuscule cité-état inséré dans le contexte urbain romain. A l'intérieur, vous pourrez visiter des lieux avec un immense patrimoine artistique tels que les Musées du Vatican, la Chapelle Sixtine et la Basilique de Saint-Pierre, le tout entouré par le décor des Jardins du Vatican.
En dehors des murs du Vatican, s’étend la ville de Rome où vous pourrez visiter, avec l'aide du Plan de Rome, les monuments qui l'ont rendu célèbre dans le monde entier. En premier le Colisée, un merveilleux exemple d'un amphithéâtre romain antique, qui se trouve près d'autres sites historiques tels que le Forum Romain et la colline du Palatin.
Si les Musées du Vatican vous ont fasciné, allez visiter aussi la Galerie Borghese et le Musée National Romain, formé par le Palais Maxime, le Palais Altemps, les Thermes de Dioclétien et la Crypte Balbi ou par contre allez aux anciens Musées du Capitole. D'un grand intérêt historique et archéologique sont les sites des Therme de Caracalla, le Tombeau de Cecilia Metella, où elle a été enterrée et où lui fut consacré un mausolée, aussi en honneur de sa famille, et la Villa des Quintili sur la Via Appia Antica, ou encore les Catacombes, lieu particulier et intéressant, pour mieux comprendre les anciennes traditions romaines.
La grandeur et la splendeur romaine peuvent également être perçues dans d'autres monuments célèbres tels que l'Autel de la Patrie, le gigantesque Château Saint-Ange ou le musée contenant l'Ara Pacis. L'un des nombreux endroits en dehors du centre de Rome, qui vaut la peine d'être visité aussi, est le chef-d'œuvre de la Renaissance italienne, la Villa d'Este à Tivoli et son jardin harmonieux.

Vatican: Attractions

ITALY MUSEUM: Museum tickets. Museum Guided tours and experiences
Official Italian Tour Operator

Castel Gandolfo

All Categories

Guided Tours

Castel Gandolfo: discover our guided tours

Add to wishlist

Vatican in a day

Guided Tours

Vatican in a day

Dedicate a day to discover the Vatican!

  • reserved entrance

  • confirmation by email

  • Fast track entry

  • e-voucher accepted

  • Group Tour

  • full day

Starting from 41.00 €

Book

Add to wishlist

Castel Gandolfo tour - departing from Rome

Guided Tours

Castel Gandolfo tour - departing from Rome

Visit the Apostolic Palace of Castel Gandolfo from Roma San Pietro!

 

  • reserved entrance

  • confirmation by email

  • Fast track entry

  • e-voucher accepted

  • Group Tour

  • audio guide included

  • full day

Starting from 15.00 €

Book

Add to wishlist

Castel Gandolfo Guided Tour

Guided Tours

Castel Gandolfo Guided Tour

Take advantage of a guided tour to learn more about the Barberini Garden and the Pontifical Villas.

  • reserved entrance

  • confirmation by email

  • e-voucher accepted

  • Group Tour

  • Duration: about 2 hours

Starting from 31.00 €

Book

WHY VISIT CASTEL GANDOLFO?

In the village of Castel Gandolfo, as well as in the Papal Palace, you can admire different testimonies of the ancient Roman buildings such as the site with the remains of the Villa di Domiziano and other villas that still exist in the area.
Between villas, churches and natural sites, you will have plenty to choose from during your visit to Castel Gandolfo. For example, the church of San Tommaso da Villanova, designed by Gian Lorenzo Bernini that looks towards the main square or the Pontifical Villa with its Antiquarium with works of art from the Imperial Villa, the theater and the famous Bergantino Nymphaeum also known as Diana’s Bath.

A LITTLE HISTORY OF CASTEL GANDOLFO

It is believed that the place that today coincides with the territory of Castel Gandolfo was the site where once was the ancient city of Alba Longa, which during the growth of Rome was dammed. At the end of 300 BC to ensure that the waters of Lake Albano reached an appropriate level, the Romans dug a tunnel in the rock by doing a complicated hydraulic engineering operation.
In the beautiful area surrounding the lake, already in the Republican era, houses and villas were built like the sumptuous villa built by the Emperor Domitian. The community of Castel Gandolfo became independent in the year 1000 and became a small agricultural community that paid a fee to the Monastery to maintain its autonomy.
The name of Castel Gandolfo comes from the Gandolfi family who built a castle around the 1200, which over the years changed ownership first with the Capizucchi family and then with the Savelli family. At the end of the 1500, Castel Gandolfo stopped being an independent town and the castle was seized by the Apostolic Camera due to the accumulated debts. Pope Clement VII included the Castle to the assets of the Church and made it the papal summer residence.

WHAT IS CASTEL GANDOLFO NOWADAYS?

Castel Gandolfo is known as the City of the Pope because for years it has been the summer residence of the Pope. This lively town is a destination for tourists from all over the world who wish to admire the characteristics of this city on the shores of Lake Albano and the splendid scenery of the Roman Castles.
The historic center of Castel Gandolfo is surrounded by the original city walls and in the vicinity many summer residences of the Roman nobility were built.

CURIOSITIES OF CASTEL GANDOLFO

Did you know that the Papal Palace of Castel Gandolfo has been used as the papal summer residence? At the moment it is a museum pertaining to the Catholic Church and from 2014 it has received the privilege of extraterritoriality that guarantees the taxes exemption and any expropriation.
Did you know that Lake Albano, which overlooks the village of Castel Gandolfo, is a place of volcanic origin in the hills of Albano (Colli Albani), built for the most part by volcanic debris? The artificial emissary (canal) of the lake is not active today, since the 60s to the present the water level has decreased by five meters, due to the intense exploitation by man to supply water for agriculture.

HOW TO VISIT CASTEL GANDOLFO?

If you are in Castel Gandolfo and want to visit the Barberini Gardens and the Pontifical Villas, you can book a visit with guaranteed departure with an expert guide.
If instead you are in Rome and have a day to explore the most important places related to the Vatican, you can participate in the one-day Vatican tour, this particular combination includes the priority entry with audio guide to the Vatican Museums and the Sistine Chapel, to the Vatican Gardens and to the Pontifical Villas of Castel Gandolfo with a round trip train ride from Rome.
Otherwise, for those who prefer to visit the Apostolic Palace of Castel Gandolfo, a visit with train departure from Rome with audio guide is offered.

OTHER ATTRACTIONS

Castel Gandolfo houses the Pontifical Palace that for many years has been the seat of the Pope's summer residence. During the year, the Pope inhabits within the walls of the Vatican City, a very small city-state inserted in the Roman urban context. Inside you can visit places with an immense artistic heritage, such as the Vatican Museums, the Sistine Chapel and the St. Peter's Basilica, all surrounded by the natural setting of the Vatican Gardens.
Outside the walls of the Vatican is the city of Rome, where you can visit, with the help of the Map of Rome, the monuments that have made it famous around the world. First the Roman Colosseum, a great example of an ancient Roman amphitheater that is located close to other historical sites such as the Roman Forum and the Palatine Hill.
If the Vatican Museums have fascinated you, visit the Borghese Gallery and the National Roman Museum formed by the Palazzo Massimo, the Palazzo Altemps, the Diocletian Thermal Baths and the Crypta Balbi, or visit the old Capitoline Museums. Other sites of great historical and archaeological interest are the sites of the Caracalla Thermal Baths, the Tomb of Cecilia Metella where Cecilia Metella was buried to whom this mausoleum was dedicated in honor of her family, and the Villa dei Quintili, all in the ancient Via Appia Antica (Appian Way), or the Catacombs, a particular and interesting place to understand the ancient Roman customs.
The grandeur and the Roman splendor can also be seen in other famous monuments such as the Altar of the Fatherland, the magnificent Castel Sant' Angelo or the museum that contains the Ara Pacis. One of the many places outside the center of Rome that is worth visiting is the Italian Renaissance masterpiece of Villa d'Este in Tivoli and its harmonious garden.

Vatican: Attractions